Make Agent Fast
Log inStart free trial
Comparisons/AI customer agents compared: 12 tools for support, sales and booking

AI customer agents compared: 12 tools for support, sales and booking

Updated October 18, 2026

The right AI customer agent depends on where your customers already talk to you: if your team works in a helpdesk, add its AI agent (Intercom Fin, Zendesk); for live chat with AI in a shared inbox, Tidio or Crisp; to build your own flows, Botpress, Voiceflow or Landbot; for Instagram and WhatsApp DMs, ManyChat or Wati; for a bot trained on your website, Chatbase or SiteGPT; and for one grounded agent across your own site and messengers, with live voice, Make Agent Fast.

We read every price and feature below on the vendor's own website on 17 October 2026 (Landbot and Voiceflow on 20 August 2026). Each fact box links the exact page and the day we checked it. Prices change, and some vary by country, so confirm them before you buy. Make Agent Fast is our product; we have tried to be just as clear about where another tool is the better fit.

How we compared these tools

We compared each AI customer service agent on six criteria and read every fact on the vendor's own website, not on review sites:

  • Channels: website chat, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger, Telegram, KakaoTalk, email and phone.
  • Pricing model: the billing unit (seat, outcome, conversation, credit or contact), the entry price and what is included.
  • Answer quality controls: whether answers come from your own content through upload or a website crawl, whether the agent can take actions, and the escalation path to a person.
  • Ease of setup: no-code setup, a visual or drag-and-drop flow builder, or a developer-first SDK and API, plus documentation and onboarding.
  • Security and compliance: what each vendor publicly documents about GDPR, SOC 2, HIPAA, data residency and self-hosting.
  • Voice: live voice in the browser, or phone calls.

We did not reduce these to one weighted score, because the right weights depend on the business. As a decision framework:

  • A support team on a helpdesk: weight channels, the escalation path and security highest.
  • A shop selling through Instagram or WhatsApp: weight channels and the price per contact or conversation highest.
  • A clinic, law firm or other regulated business: weight security, data residency and the handoff to staff highest.
  • A small business adding its first AI agent: weight ease of setup and a predictable monthly price highest.

Limitations of this review: we read each vendor's pricing, product, help and trust pages on 17–18 October 2026 (Landbot and Voiceflow pricing on 20 August 2026). We did not run paid trials of every tool, measure answer accuracy, or use third-party user reviews or ratings. Prices are list prices in US dollars unless noted, and some vary by country. Make Agent Fast is our product.

At a glance

Checked on 2026-10-17
ToolBest forPricing to startLive voiceChecked
Make Agent FastA grounded agent on your own site and messengers, with live voice7-day card-free trial on Launch and Operate, then from $15/mo ($12/mo billed annually); Scale bills immediatelyLive voice calls in the website widget (in the browser, not a phone line) from Operate at $35/mo, 30 min/mo includedCurrent plans
Intercom FinSupport teams already on Intercom or a large helpdesk$0.99 per Fin outcome, plus Intercom seats from $29/seat/mo billed annually ($39 monthly)Fin Voice answers phone calls; currently limited to select customers through Intercom sales2026-10-17
Zendesk AI agentsTeams already running ZendeskSeats from $19/agent/mo billed annually ($25 monthly); a few automated resolutions included per agent, then $1.50 each committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go; 14-day trialAI phone agents; requires Zendesk voice2026-10-17
Tidio (Lyro)Shopify stores that want live chat plus AIFree plan; Starter $29/mo ($24.17 billed annually); Lyro from $39/mo for 50 conversations ($32.50 annually), first 50 conversations freeNo AI voice calls listed; live video calls are a help desk feature for your team2026-10-17
CrispSmall teams that want a shared inboxFree plan without AI; Mini $45/mo per workspace with $5 of AI credits; 14-day free trialNo live voice agent listed; audio messages can be transcribed2026-10-17
ChatbaseA quick FAQ chatbot on your site7-day trial; Hobby $40/mo ($32 billed yearly); voice starts on Standard at $150/mo ($120 billed yearly)Voice and telephony on Standard and higher, with recording and call-limit controls2026-10-17
SiteGPTContent-heavy sites and help centersNo free plan; 7-day trial with a card; Starter $59/mo ($39/mo billed yearly)No voice listed on the pricing page2026-10-17
BotpressDeveloper teams building custom agentsFree with 100 conversations/mo; Plus $150/mo and Team $750/mo billed annually, with AI usage beyond the included amount billed on topVoice channel listed on the Enterprise plan2026-10-17
VoiceflowTeams designing complex chat and voice agentsFree trial; business pricing is usage-based or sales-ledVoice and chat channels are supported2026-08-20
LandbotVisual flows and WhatsApp campaignsFree Sandbox; Starter €40/mo (€32 annual); regional USD pricing differsNo native live-voice calling documented2026-08-20
ManyChatInstagram and TikTok DM automationFree plan; AI included from Pro at $39/mo ($29 billed annually) for 2,500 contacts; price rises with contacts and varies by billing countryNo live voice calls listed2026-10-17
WatiWhatsApp broadcasts and campaignsNo free plan, 7-day trial; Growth from $59/mo billed annually in the US ($69 monthly), prices vary by country; WhatsApp message fees extra; Astra AI from $99/moAstra voice agent answers calls on WhatsApp and the web; WhatsApp voice is in limited beta2026-10-17

Each vendor's figures come from its own website on the date shown; the full comparison links the exact page. Prices can change and some vary by country, so confirm with the provider before buying.

Compare the billing unit, not the headline price

The starting prices in the table are hard to compare directly, because each tool charges for something different:

  • Per outcome or resolution: Intercom Fin charges per Fin outcome, and Zendesk charges per automated resolution on top of agent seats.
  • Conversation packs or AI credits: Tidio sells Lyro in conversation packs; Crisp includes a set amount of AI credit per workspace; Chatbase and SiteGPT include a monthly message allowance.
  • Platform plus usage: Botpress bills AI usage on top of the plan.
  • Audience size: ManyChat's price grows with the number of contacts.
  • Channel fees: Wati adds WhatsApp's own message fees, and its Astra AI agent is a separate add-on.

Before you compare, estimate how many conversations you expect each month and how many people on your team need a seat. A low entry price can become the most expensive option at your volume, and the reverse is also true.

How to choose in one minute

  • Your team already works in a helpdesk: start with that helpdesk's own AI agent (Intercom Fin, Zendesk AI agents) before adding a second system.
  • Several people answer chats and you need a shared inbox: look at Tidio or Crisp.
  • You have builders and want custom flows: Botpress, Voiceflow or Landbot.
  • Customers mostly reach you in Instagram or WhatsApp DMs: ManyChat or Wati.
  • You want a bot trained on a large website or help center: Chatbase or SiteGPT.
  • You want an agent on your own site and messengers that answers only from approved knowledge, with live voice: Make Agent Fast.

Ease of setup: no-code or developer-first

How much building each tool expects, from what each vendor says about its own setup (details and sources are in each tool's section):

  • No-code, ready in minutes: Chatbase and SiteGPT train an agent from your website or files; Tidio and Intercom add a widget with one snippet; Make Agent Fast reads your website and you approve the knowledge.
  • Visual flow builders: Landbot's drag-and-drop builder, ManyChat's Flow Builder and Wati's no-code chatbot builder suit teams that want conditional logic without code; Crisp also has a no-code chatbot builder.
  • Visual and code: Botpress pairs a visual studio with a TypeScript development kit, and Voiceflow pairs visual workflows and plain-language playbooks with APIs and a CLI.
  • Configured inside a helpdesk: Zendesk AI agents are set up through guided steps inside Zendesk.

Intercom Fin

Who it is for: support teams already on Intercom, or on another large helpdesk, that handle real volume across many channels.

Fin answers from your knowledge and can run multi-step procedures such as refunds and account updates. It can also run on top of another helpdesk; Intercom names Zendesk, Salesforce, HubSpot and Freshdesk, with a 50-outcome monthly minimum for that standalone setup and a 14-day trial (Fin pricing). Fin Voice answers phone calls, but Intercom currently limits it to select customers through its sales team.

Setup: mostly no-code; Intercom says installing its Messenger on a website takes a few minutes, with options for WordPress, Shopify and Google Tag Manager (Intercom help).

Pricing to start
$0.99 per Fin outcome, plus Intercom seats from $29/seat/mo billed annually ($39 monthly)Checked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Live chat, email, phone, WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger, SMS, Discord and SlackChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
Fin Voice answers phone calls; currently limited to select customers through Intercom salesChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
45 languagesChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Hands off to your team in Intercom or the helpdesk you already use, with full contextChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with Intercom Fin→

Pick something else when you are a small team without a helpdesk: paying per outcome plus per seat is built for support organizations, not a single owner.

Zendesk AI agents

Who it is for: teams whose support already runs on Zendesk tickets, messaging and voice.

Zendesk's AI agents follow procedures written in plain language, ground answers in your knowledge and act in connected systems. Zendesk counts a resolution only when the AI agent resolves a request without escalating it to a person (Zendesk pricing). Phone support needs Zendesk voice, and the AI agents page lists 80 languages.

Setup: guided configuration inside Zendesk; Zendesk says you can begin automating in minutes, with API integrations as an optional extra (Zendesk help).

Pricing to start
Seats from $19/agent/mo billed annually ($25 monthly); a few automated resolutions included per agent, then $1.50 each committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go; 14-day trialChecked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Web, mobile, social, email and voiceChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
AI phone agents; requires Zendesk voiceChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
80 languagesChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Escalates to the right team inside Zendesk, with contextChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with Zendesk AI agents→

Pick something else when you do not want a per-seat helpdesk at all. Zendesk makes the most sense when you are already paying for it.

Tidio (Lyro)

Who it is for: online stores, especially on Shopify, and small teams that want live chat and AI in one inbox.

Lyro answers only from content you add, such as website pages, FAQs and PDF files, and it hands off to a person when it cannot answer or the customer asks. Tidio lists native Shopify actions, including order-status checks and product recommendations with add-to-cart, and Lyro can also connect to a helpdesk you already use (Tidio product facts). There is a free plan to start.

Setup: no-code; you paste one line of code into your site, and Lyro needs no coding (Tidio FAQ).

Pricing to start
Free plan; Starter $29/mo ($24.17 billed annually); Lyro from $39/mo for 50 conversations ($32.50 annually), first 50 conversations freeChecked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Website chat, email, Messenger, Instagram and WhatsAppChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
No AI voice calls listed; live video calls are a help desk feature for your teamChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
Lyro answers in 12 languagesChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Hands the chat to a human agent when Lyro can't answer or the customer asks for a personChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with Tidio (Lyro)→

Pick something else when you need live voice, Telegram or KakaoTalk, or more than the 12 languages Tidio lists for Lyro.

Crisp

Who it is for: small teams where several people answer customers and want one shared, omnichannel inbox.

Crisp prices per workspace rather than per seat, and its Hugo AI agent runs on AI credits included from the Mini plan. Crisp says a fully AI-handled conversation costs around $0.05–$0.10 on average, and Hugo stops answering when the credits run out unless pay-as-you-go is on (Crisp AI billing). The free plan includes the chat widget and shared inbox but no AI credits.

Setup: a no-code chatbot builder, plus a chatbot API, chat SDKs and a developer hub (Crisp chatbot).

Pricing to start
Free plan without AI; Mini $45/mo per workspace with $5 of AI credits; 14-day free trialChecked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Web chat, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and emailChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
No live voice agent listed; audio messages can be transcribedChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
No language count publishedChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Passes the conversation with full context to your team's shared inboxChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with Crisp→

Pick something else when what you mainly need is the agent itself rather than a team inbox, or when you need live voice calls.

Chatbase

Who it is for: businesses that want a no-code AI agent trained on their website, with voice and integrations on the higher plans.

Chatbase trains an agent on your website and files and puts it on your site, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram and Slack. Its helpdesk inbox, voice and telephony start on the Standard plan. Each self-serve plan includes one AI agent and a set number of seats, and advanced models use more message credits per reply (Chatbase pricing, models).

Setup: no-code; Chatbase says no code is required and an agent is ready in minutes, and its API needs Standard or higher (Chatbase, pricing).

Pricing to start
7-day trial; Hobby $40/mo ($32 billed yearly); voice starts on Standard at $150/mo ($120 billed yearly)Checked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Website plus WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, Slack, and other plan-dependent integrationsChecked 2026-08-20
Live voice calls
Voice and telephony on Standard and higher, with recording and call-limit controlsChecked 2026-08-20
Languages
Many chat languages (~80)Checked 2026-08-20
Full comparison with Chatbase→

Pick something else when you need several agents or more seats on an entry budget, Telegram, which Chatbase does not list, or a team inbox without moving up to Standard.

SiteGPT

Who it is for: content-heavy websites and help centers, and teams that want the bot inside an existing helpdesk.

SiteGPT trains a no-code chatbot on your website, files, YouTube videos, Notion and Google Drive. Higher plans index up to 50,000 pages and connect to Zendesk, Crisp, Freshdesk and Zoho SalesIQ (SiteGPT pricing, SiteGPT docs). There is no free plan; the 7-day trial asks for a card.

Setup: no-code; enter your URL or upload files, training usually finishes in a few minutes, then add the embed code (SiteGPT).

Pricing to start
No free plan; 7-day trial with a card; Starter $59/mo ($39/mo billed yearly)Checked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Website widget on every plan; Slack, Messenger and helpdesks such as Crisp and Zendesk on higher plansChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
No voice listed on the pricing pageChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
95+ languagesChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Passes the chat to a person on request or by your rules; staff reply from the dashboardChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with SiteGPT→

Pick something else when you need live voice or messenger channels like Telegram or KakaoTalk.

Botpress

Who it is for: teams with developers who want to build custom agents.

Botpress gives you a visual Studio and a TypeScript development kit for workflows, knowledge bases, actions and code, plus integrations for a long list of channels. The free plan includes 100 conversations a month, which is enough to prototype. Human handoff is built in from the Plus plan, and the voice channel is listed on Enterprise.

Setup: a visual, no-code builder plus a TypeScript kit and API for developers (Botpress, for developers).

Pricing to start
Free with 100 conversations/mo; Plus $150/mo and Team $750/mo billed annually, with AI usage beyond the included amount billed on topChecked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Webchat, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, Telegram, Slack, Teams, Discord, LINE, Viber, WeChat, SMS and moreChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
Voice channel listed on the Enterprise planChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
No count in the current docs; a 2024 Botpress blog post says over 100Checked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Built-in human handoff from Plus; can also hand off to tools such as Intercom, HubSpot and LiveChatChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with Botpress→

Pick something else when nobody on your team wants to design flows or manage AI spend separately from the plan.

Voiceflow

Who it is for: product and CX teams designing sophisticated chat and voice agents.

Voiceflow is a production platform with workflow control, evaluations, environments and integrations. It is the strongest choice here when the agent is a product that a team builds and maintains.

Setup: playbooks written in plain language and visual workflows, plus code, APIs and a CLI (Voiceflow).

Pricing to start
Free trial; business pricing is usage-based or sales-ledChecked 2026-08-20
Messaging channels
Production deployments across chat and voice channelsChecked 2026-08-20
Live voice calls
Voice and chat channels are supportedChecked 2026-08-20
Languages
Model- and implementation-dependentChecked 2026-08-20
Full comparison with Voiceflow→

Pick something else when you need an agent live this week without a build project.

Landbot

Who it is for: teams that like visual, step-by-step flows and run WhatsApp campaigns.

Landbot combines visual flows with AI agents on paid plans, human takeover and WhatsApp tooling on higher plans.

Setup: a no-code drag-and-drop builder; Landbot says you can build and deploy a first AI agent in 15 minutes (Landbot).

Pricing to start
Free Sandbox; Starter €40/mo (€32 annual); regional USD pricing differsChecked 2026-08-20
Messaging channels
Web and Messenger; API and WhatsApp on higher plansChecked 2026-08-20
Live voice calls
No native live-voice calling documentedChecked 2026-08-20
Languages
Multi-language flows (manual)Checked 2026-08-20
Full comparison with Landbot→

Pick something else when you want the agent to answer open questions from your knowledge rather than walk visitors through designed paths.

ManyChat

Who it is for: creators and brands that grow through Instagram and TikTok DMs.

ManyChat automates DMs and comment replies across Instagram, WhatsApp, Messenger, TikTok, Telegram, email and SMS. Its AI Replies answer from a knowledge library, but ManyChat's help center says they currently work on Instagram only and are in beta (ManyChat AI Replies). Price depends on how many contacts you have and on your billing country. We did not find a website chat widget in its channel list.

Setup: no-code, with Quick Automations and a visual Flow Builder (ManyChat).

Pricing to start
Free plan; AI included from Pro at $39/mo ($29 billed annually) for 2,500 contacts; price rises with contacts and varies by billing countryChecked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
Instagram, WhatsApp, Messenger, TikTok, Telegram, email and SMS; no website chat widget listedChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
No live voice calls listedChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
"All major languages"; no exact countChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
AI Replies can assign the conversation to a person in the ManyChat inboxChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with ManyChat→

Pick something else when most customer questions arrive on your website.

Wati

Who it is for: businesses where WhatsApp is the main channel, with broadcasts, click-to-WhatsApp ads and a team sharing several numbers.

Wati is a WhatsApp-first team inbox that also covers Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and a web widget. WhatsApp's own message fees are charged on top, and the Astra AI agent is a separate add-on metered in credits: one per text response and five per minute of voice (Astra pricing). Astra's WhatsApp voice is in limited beta, and Wati's prices differ by country.

Setup: a no-code WhatsApp chatbot builder (Wati).

Pricing to start
No free plan, 7-day trial; Growth from $59/mo billed annually in the US ($69 monthly), prices vary by country; WhatsApp message fees extra; Astra AI from $99/moChecked 2026-10-17
Messaging channels
WhatsApp messages and calling, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok and a web widget in one inboxChecked 2026-10-17
Live voice calls
Astra voice agent answers calls on WhatsApp and the web; WhatsApp voice is in limited betaChecked 2026-10-17
Languages
30+ languages for voice; no count given for textChecked 2026-10-17
Handoff to a person
Transfers to a human in the Wati team inboxChecked 2026-10-17
Full comparison with Wati→

Pick something else when your website is where customers ask first, or you would rather not budget for a separate AI add-on.

Where Make Agent Fast fits

Make Agent Fast reads your website, you approve the knowledge, and the agent answers only from what you approved, on the site you already have and in your messaging channels. Questions outside that knowledge go to a person, with an email and an inbox where you reply. Live voice runs in the website widget in the browser, not on a phone line.

Setup: enter your website address; the agent drafts its knowledge from your site, you approve it, then add the embed code or connect a messenger.

Pricing to start
7-day card-free trial on Launch and Operate, then from $15/mo ($12/mo billed annually); Scale bills immediately
Messaging channels
Embed on the site you already have, on every plan; Telegram, WhatsApp, Messenger, Instagram, Discord, KakaoTalk from Operate
Live voice calls
Live voice calls in the website widget (in the browser, not a phone line) from Operate at $35/mo, 30 min/mo included
Languages
English, Korean, Uzbek and Russian for both the dashboard and the agent's speech on every plan; voice in the default language on Launch, every supported language on Scale
Handoff to a person
Questions outside approved knowledge go to a person: an email with the reason, and an inbox where you reply
Plans and pricing→

Pick something else when you need phone-line voice, a full team helpdesk, more than English, Korean, Uzbek and Russian, or deep custom workflows. Several tools above do those better.

Looking for a Chatbase alternative?

If Chatbase's one-agent-per-plan limit, seat count or credit pricing is the problem, the closest like-for-like alternative is SiteGPT, another no-code bot trained on your website; Crisp or Tidio add a shared inbox, Intercom Fin or Zendesk fit a support team already on a helpdesk, and Make Agent Fast adds live voice and messengers such as Telegram and KakaoTalk. Chatbase remains a quick way to put a no-code agent on a website, so if it already works for you, switching may not be worth it. See Make Agent Fast vs Chatbase.

Security and compliance

What each vendor publicly documents, read on its own trust, security and legal pages on 18 October 2026. "Not stated" means we found nothing official, not that the answer is no; ask the vendor for its current reports before you sign.

  • SOC 2: Intercom, Zendesk, Tidio, Chatbase, SiteGPT, Botpress, Voiceflow and ManyChat state a SOC 2 Type II report; Wati states SOC 2 without the type, Landbot shares a SOC 2 report under NDA, and Crisp says it has not had a SOC 2 audit.
  • HIPAA: Intercom lists HIPAA support on its Expert plan, Zendesk signs a BAA through Advanced Compliance, and Chatbase, SiteGPT and Voiceflow offer a BAA on Enterprise. Tidio's terms say it is not a HIPAA business associate, and ManyChat's terms disclaim it.
  • Data residency: Tidio and Crisp keep data in the EU or EEA and ManyChat in Frankfurt; Intercom and Zendesk let higher plans choose a region; Chatbase and SiteGPT host in the US, and SiteGPT says no EU option is planned.
  • Self-hosting and vendor lock-in: we found no current self-hosting option. Botpress retired its self-hosted v12, Voiceflow offers private cloud on Enterprise, and the others do not mention it, so check how you can export your knowledge and conversations before you commit.
  • Make Agent Fast: we publish a DPA covering GDPR and Korea's PIPA, host primary data on Google Cloud in Seoul, encrypt customer credentials with AES-256-GCM and keep a tamper-evident audit trail. We do not claim SOC 2 or HIPAA (security, DPA).
Security and compliance
ToolGDPR / DPASOC 2HIPAAData residencySelf-hosting
Make Agent FastDPA published (GDPR, SCCs, Korea PIPA)sourceNo report claimedsourceNot claimedsourceGoogle Cloud, SeoulsourceNo — hosted servicesource
Intercom FinDPA availablesourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceHIPAA support on Expert plansourceUS, EU or Australia (Advanced and Expert)sourceNot stated
Zendesk AI agentsDPA availablesourceSOC 2 Type II (under NDA)sourceBAA with Advanced CompliancesourceUS, EEA, UK, Japan or Australia (add-on)sourceNot stated
Tidio (Lyro)DPA availablesourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceNo BAA in its termssourceEEAsourceNot stated
CrispDPA availablesourceNo SOC 2 audit (says aligned)sourceNot statedEUsourceNot stated
ChatbaseDPA availablesourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceBAA on Enterprise onlysourceUS (AWS us-east-1)sourceNot stated
SiteGPTDPA on EnterprisesourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceBAA on Enterprise onlysourceUS; no EU optionsourceNot stated
BotpressGDPR stated; DPA in trust centersourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceListed; no BAA statedsourceUS by default; custom residency offeredsourceNo — self-hosted v12 retiredsource
VoiceflowDPA availablesourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceBAA on Enterprise onlysourceConfigurable; regions not namedsourcePrivate cloud on Enterprisesource
LandbotDPA on requestsourceSOC 2 report under NDAsourceNot statedEU-based; region not statedsourceNot stated
ManyChatDPA availablesourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceNot supported (terms disclaim it)sourceEU (Frankfurt)sourceNot stated
WatiDPA availablesourceSOC 2 stated; type not statedsourceNot statedGCP Singapore and Belgium; dedicated hosting $1,000/mosourceNot stated

When to switch AI customer agent tools

These signals usually mean a tool no longer fits. Chatbase is the worked example; the same checks apply to any tool on this page.

  • You need more than one agent. Chatbase includes one AI agent on each self-serve plan and charges $300 a year for each extra agent (Chatbase pricing). Tools billed per workspace or per outcome, such as Crisp or Intercom Fin, scale differently.
  • More people need to answer chats. Chatbase includes 2, 3 or 5 seats depending on the plan. Crisp prices per workspace with seats included (Crisp pricing), and Tidio includes 10 seats on its Free, Starter and Growth plans (Tidio pricing).
  • Customers are on channels your tool does not cover. For Telegram, which Chatbase does not list, look at ManyChat, Botpress or Make Agent Fast; for phone calls, Intercom Fin Voice or Zendesk; for KakaoTalk, see our KakaoTalk guide.
  • You need branching workflows. Chatbase's Procedures support if/else branches, up to 15 steps and 5 branches with no nesting (Chatbase procedures). For deeper conditional logic, use a visual builder such as Botpress, Voiceflow or Landbot.
  • The pricing model stops fitting. Credit-based pricing costs more with advanced models; on Chatbase some models use up to 5 credits per message (models). A per-conversation or per-outcome price can be easier to predict at high volume.
  • Compliance requirements change. If you need a BAA or EU data residency, check the table above: on Chatbase a BAA needs Enterprise, and data is hosted in the US.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a free AI customer agent?+

Yes, with limits on the AI. Tidio and ManyChat have free plans, Botpress's free plan includes 100 conversations a month, and Crisp's free plan has the chat widget and shared inbox but no AI credits. On Tidio, Lyro's first 50 conversations are free; ManyChat includes AI from its Pro plan.

Which AI customer agents can answer phone calls?+

Intercom's Fin Voice answers phone calls for select customers through Intercom sales, Zendesk AI agents handle calls with Zendesk voice, Botpress lists a voice channel on Enterprise, and Wati's Astra voice agent answers on WhatsApp and the web, with WhatsApp voice in limited beta. Chatbase includes voice and telephony from its Standard plan. Make Agent Fast's live voice runs in the website widget, not on a phone line.

Which AI chatbot for customer support is best for WhatsApp and Instagram?+

ManyChat if Instagram and TikTok DMs drive your growth, and Wati if WhatsApp is your main channel with broadcasts. Tidio, Crisp, Botpress, Intercom Fin, Chatbase and Make Agent Fast also cover WhatsApp and Instagram alongside your website. We compare them in Which AI agent works for a Telegram or Instagram business?.

Which AI customer service agent is cheapest?+

It depends on your volume, because each tool charges for something different: outcomes, resolutions, conversation packs, AI credits, contacts or WhatsApp messages. Estimate your monthly conversations and the number of people who need a seat, then compare the table above at that volume.

Which AI customer agents offer SOC 2 or HIPAA?+

Eight of the tools here state a SOC 2 Type II report. For HIPAA, Intercom lists support on its Expert plan, Zendesk signs a BAA through Advanced Compliance, and Chatbase, SiteGPT and Voiceflow offer a BAA on Enterprise. Make Agent Fast claims neither. The security section above links each vendor's page.

How current is this comparison?+

We re-check each vendor's own pages and update this page in place. Every price and feature shows the date it was checked and links the page it came from.

How we checked

We read each vendor's own pricing, product and help pages, not review sites, and recorded the date next to every claim. Where a vendor's pages disagreed, we used the newest official page and said so on the comparison page. If something here is out of date, the fact box links the page to check, and we update the comparison data that this page and every comparison page read from.

Related reading

  • Which AI agent works for a Telegram or Instagram business?
  • AI support on KakaoTalk for clinics: what to automate and how to connect it
Build a customer agent→Comparisons
Make Agent Fast

Make Agent Fast — customer-facing AI agents for companies.

How it worksAgent rolesPricingFAQSecurity
AI agent builderGet help launching your agentIntegrationsUse casesComparisonsPartnersDocsChangelogBlog
Log inPrivacyTermsDPA

© 2026 Make Agent Fast